Monday, July 29, 2013

Tour Stop | Phantom Dreams by T.K. Harris



Book Title: Phantom Dreams
Author: T.K. Harris
Release Date: June 7th
Genre: Mystery Thriller
Length: 81,956 words, 273 pages
Presented by: As You Wish Tours
Cover Design by: Benjamin Poelman and Tipping Point

Interview with T.K. Harris

If you were a genie, what wish would you absolutely not grant?
 
The ability to make someone feel something for you. Just wrong on so many levels.

If a genie granted you three wishes, what would they be? (You cannot ask for more wishes, hehe)
1) Lifelong health and prosperity and happiness for my family. If I can squeeze that in as one wish, then the other two would be: 2) wisdom and 3) the ability to read, speak, write and understand any language.

If you could go into the past or future; where would you go and why? Egypt during it's prime. Why? 
Well who wouldn't?! The Library of Alexandria, the pyramids, temples, people, culture, pharaohs. (Of course I'd have to go back as some kind of royalty – otherwise I'd probably be thrown in jail.)

If you had the ability to do two major tasks at the same time, what would they be? 
Make money and sleep. Or make money and spend time with my kids. Travel with kids and make money. Ya. I like that last one best.

If you were the Miss World, what would your message for aspiring models be?
 
Well, first, that would never happen – have you seen my profile pic?! Second, um, start investing. Looks don't last forever. 

If you were to name one piece of clothing that describes you, what would you say?
 
Jeans.



BLURB 

FBI Special Agent Jack Matthews finds himself on yet another serial killer case, having barely recovered from the last disastrous hunt. Still stiff from a gun shot wound in his leg, under investigation for a botched job, and having lost his fiancée when she walked out on him, Jack is beginning to wonder if it isn’t time to move on to something new. But, for Jack, these cases are personal and he can’t say no. 

Marketing specialist Kathy Gilliam leads a fairly boring life. If she’s not working or caring for her ailing father, then she is doing whatever it takes to avoid going anywhere near crowds of people. Her few distractions include her friend Margo Longfellow, occasional hiking trips, and her increasingly alarming dreams of women dying.

As her nightmares cause her to begin to doubt her sanity, the media releases news of the “Coast-to-Coast Killer” and Kathy discovers her dreams may be related. In a moment of panic, Kathy does something that places her on the FBI’s “persons of interest” list. Suddenly, her life is set on a collision course with Jack who must decide if Kathy is the killer or destined to become a victim.

AUTHOR BIO 
T.K. Harris was born in California and lived a gypsy sort of life traveling the world as a military brat. She has been writing since she was a child and as had several short stories published by various magazines, including one in Woman's World. She currently lives and works in Colorado as a Senior Solutions Architect and IT Instructor and has recently had her first novel, Phantom Dreams, published. She is looking forward to her next two books, already outlined and partially written. You can find out more at: http://www.tkharrisonline.com




AUTHOR LINKS 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, July 27, 2013

Sink or Swim Blog Tour


Blurb:
There are some things you just can't walk away from.

When sleeping in vacant warehouses and dark alleys becomes preferable to living at home, something is seriously wrong. But when word reaches Allie that her mother is facing a life threatening illness, she has no choice but to return to the place of nightmares. Leaving wasn't a choice, it was a necessity, and if returning hadn't been equally necessary, Allie never would have set foot back inside that hell-hole.

Dean is no stranger to hardship, but the day Allie walked out of his life, taking his heart right along with her, was hands-down the most frustrating. Six months later, she's back and Dean refuses to rest until he figures out exactly what the hell happened.

Now, Allie's drowning. Drowning in lies. Drowning in the truth. Drowning in pain, and anger, and fear. But there comes a time when every drowning person must decide whether they will . . . Sink or Swim?










Author Bio:
Jamie Canosa is a full time author of YA literature, which she absolutely loves. When she’s not writing or spending time with her family, she can usually be found with her nose in a book. She currently resides in Ravena, NY with her wonderful husband and three crazy kids . . . plus the dog, the bird and the rabbit.

Author links:

Other books by Jamie:
<a id="rc-0443c38" class="rafl" href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/0443c38/" rel="nofollow">a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>


And, here's the link to a book trailer I created for Sink or Swim in case you're interested: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZKz6mO-0F38


Tuesday, July 23, 2013

Tour Stop | The Mirror by Candace Bowser


Book Title: The Mirror
Author: Candace L. Bowser
Release Date: June 18, 2013
Genre: Paranormal Romance/Horror
Length: 280 Pages
Presented by: As You Wish Tours


Why Book Covers are So Important

It is the proverbial and quintessential part of your book, some even say that it is the most important; the book cover. It can honestly be said the cover to any novel is everything, especially for the Indie author. Major authors who are established can sell their books by sheer name alone, but the Indie author has to use the visual loveliness of their cover as their first draw. I cannot tell you how many books I have passed over reading just because the cover was so horrid my brain couldn’t get past the image.

A quality book cover needs to do many things. There are but a few of the important ones (in my humble opinion).

Create interest – some things to consider in creating interest. Does your cover beg ‘read me’ or does it say ‘someone just threw me together? Does it make the reader wonder what the book is about? Does it make them curious?

Be visually stunning – This does not mean you need to hire a super model to be on the cover of your book, because honestly, if that was affordable everyone would be doing it. What is does mean is do invest in a cover. There are many artists out there who make premade covers, including myself, who have them available at a very reasonable rate. If this is not affordable, consider royalty free images. There are countless sites that offer images that can be used for book covers for less than $5. I recommend Dreamstime images. They have countless images for sale and the cost depends on the size you pick. I have never paid more than $9 for an image, and if you are photoshop savvy, a stunning cover can be made in only a few hours. I usually do not endorse a particular site, but having been round the bend a million times, I can honestly say they have the biggest selection and the best pricing.

Portray your book the way you wish it to be seen – What I mean by this is if your book is say…erotica, have some very attractive people on the cover and sports car. The cover of a book should scream this is what’ inside.

Not overwhelm the senses – A common mistake to have covers that just have way too much going on the front page. Look at your cover the way a reader would look at it or if you were yourself in the mark to purchase a book. Does it intrigue you? Does it make you wonder what it is about? There is some controversy about whether or not to use people on the cover. Some say it detracts from the novel because the character is not left to the reader’s imagination, where others say an attractive person on the cover is more likely to draw a reader. Experimentation here is the key, in my opinion.

BLURB 

Adrianna Bristol stood before her grandmother's antique mirror and stared at the black velvet cloth covering it. She just couldn't believe her nana was gone. The mirror had hung in that exact same spot for the last twenty years, never once had it been moved from the alcove. Adrianna remembered the stern words of her grandmother when she was a child. Annabel Bristol had told her, "promise me Adrianna that you will never uncover the mirror. No matter what it may whisper to you, you must never remove the cover." Adrianna laid her hand against the cool velvet which covered the glass. As she walked away the mirror whispered to her, "you belong to me now. You belong to me." A four hundred year old curse has plagued the Bristol family since the 1600's. A curse born out of a love so rich and a betrayal so deep, that time itself has no power to stop it. Only Adrianna has the courage to find the truth behind the curse and set her family free. But will the Mirror release its darkest secrets? 

About the Author
An avid writer, Candace works nearly every day on one of her manuscripts. Though she predominately composes works of horror, she also writes mystery, suspense, and adventure. During the 1990’s she was a featured columnist for PRS in Kansas City. In 2011, Candace was honored by being voted one of the Top 20 Most Prolific Authors by AKG mag.. Her books are an unusual blend of historical places and events, along with fictional and non-fictional characters, which she seamlessly weaves into the story .Originally from south-central Pennsylvania, she currently resides in Kansas City with her husband Todd.

AUTHOR LINKS

BOOK LINKS

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, July 7, 2013

Tour Stop | The Twisted Truth by Erin Armstrong


Book Title: The Twisted Truth
Author: Erin Armstrong
Release Date: May 30, 2013
Genre: Urban Fiction
Publisher: GMTA Publishing, LLC
Presented by: As You Wish Tours



My favorite books of all time
  1. 50 Shades of Grey- Don’t judge me! I love the book. Christian Gray was my boyfriend in my head for 3 months or so. I kind of miss him, to be honest!
  2. Friends and Lovers by Eric Jerome Dickey- He is one of my favorites and that book was one of his earlier works. It was passionate and gut wrenching! As a matter of fact, where is that book? I think I’ll read it again!
  3. The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia)- I read this book over and over again when I was in elementary school. I have a really over active imagination and this book really took me to another world. I think it was a little advanced for me when I was younger so I didn’t really get it until I was older.
  4. Any book by Rochelle Alers. And believe me, she has a lot of books so it’s hard to pinpoint any particular one that I have read!
  5. Soul mates Dissipate by Mary B Morrison- Mary is not afraid to take risks and her books are sexy and drama filled. Everything I love in a good book.
My favorite food

I love anything with red sauce. Spaghetti is my favorite. My family is probably sick of it! I’m also a big fan of seafood. Crab legs are the best but I hate having to open them. It’s just too much work for something that I’m only going to eat. I also have a sweet tooth. I like anything sweet. Vanilla cake, chocolate candy, desserts of any kind!

My favorite movies
  1. Tombstone
  2. The Best Man
  3. Fast and the Furious (pretty much all of them…except for Tokyo Drift. Totally missed the mark on that one!)
  4. The Hangover
  5. 27 Dresses
  6. You’ve Got Mail
My Favorite Vacation Spots 

My favorite vacation spot would be Barbados. Now when we went there it was on a cruise so we didn’t get to spend as much time as we wanted to but the beaches are to die for! The water is bathwater warm and it’s a very nice place to just lay out and relax.

My second favorite would have to be Jamaica. I’ve been there twice. Once on my Honeymoon and then again last year for my family trip. It’s beautiful and the people are nice. I’d probably go again but there are so many other countries I have to get to. Preferably ones that have beaches!






 

SYNOPSIS

Michelle Marshall is a strong independent woman with a lot of baggage. Raped right before the start of her senior year of college, Michelle grows to be a caring, single mother to her daughter. Things begin to look pretty grim when the Charity House, the women's shelter she founded, is on the brink of having to close its doors. That is, until Tyler Austin, a mysterious and handsome stranger comes into the picture. Helping Michelle resuscitate the Charity House, Ty also helps her learn to trust, love and feel what she hasn't in years. Not everything is quite as perfect as Michelle would like though, as occasional hints lead her to believe something is not quite right. Her suspicions are confirmed when even more frightening developments occur and start to become...deadly.



AUTHOR BIO
Erin Armstrong graduated from Franklin High School. She currently works for Easter Seals NJ where she assists families with children who are disabled. She has been with the company for three years. With Easter Seals, her goal is to always live by their slogan which is to enable individuals with disabilities of special needs and their families to live, learn, work and play in their communities with equality, dignity, and independence.

There is no greater reward to her than being able to make a difference in these families lives.

At an early age she knew that she wanted to be a writer. Some of her first stories she wrote when she was only ten years old. It wasn’t always easy for her and she struggled to find her niche. She has written several short stories but never published any of them. Eventually she was able to sit down and write down all of her ideas and was finally able to make her dream a reality.

Erin lives at home with husband of five years and her two boys Davien and Cameron. She enjoys spending time with them and watching them grow every day.




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, July 5, 2013

Cover Reveal!



Title: A Secret Fate (A Whisper Cape Novel, Book 3)
Author: Susan Griscom
Publisher: Amber Glow Books
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Release Date: Fall 2013
Add it to your to read list.Goodreads  

Synopsis:
Book three in the Whisper Cape Series.

Gerry, Addie and Cael almost captured Careen’s murderer but lost Cael in the battle. Is he alive? If so, will he return? And the bigger question, thanks to Gerry's handiwork, will Cael remember Addie? Is their love lost with him?

Addie’s family and friends think she should keep the relationship a secret. Just what she needs, more secrets and on top of everything else, someone stole the crystal. How is she supposed to get over the loss of her lover, a lover she'd barely had for only a few short months and deal with the secret of the lost crystal at the same time?

Aiden wants nothing more than to help Addie overcome her grief and get over Cael. Or is that all he wants? What happens when too many people know the secret and someone slips up? 

An unedited Excerpt from A Secret Fate
 For the umpteenth time, over the past two weeks, Addie recited the words over and over again in her head, begging, pleading, Cael, please remember me. Please remember you love me.
Dragging her useless, helpless, and now rail-thin of a frame from the bed—their bed, his bed—she stumbled into the bathroom, hardly recognizing the person in the mirror. The sunken, dark eyes, her indented cheekbones, only made her brown eyes look larger and more recessed, giving her face a hollow look. Well, that was fine, now her face matched her hollow and empty soul.
She couldn’t work, couldn’t sleep, couldn’t eat. Gerry threatened to give her job to Darcy permanently if she didn’t snap out of it and get her rear end into the bar soon. She didn’t care. Why should she? Let Darcy have the damn job. She didn’t need it. She had her trust fund, didn’t she? She couldn’t face going in there, seeing all those people, everyone asking how she was getting along … without Cael—the unspoken part of the sentence. Well, how the hell did they think she was? She just lost the man she loved. Lost her dad the year before. Who would be next? Who would she lose next? Maia? The Twins who weren’t even born yet? Unthinkable. But, as the old saying went, bad things happened in threes. Maybe if she stayed home, away from other people, nobody else would die or disappear. Her family, friends, they’d all taken turns checking in on her, Darcy one day, Maia another. Gerry, Cael’s uncle Bart even stopped by. Someone, once a day would come knocking on her door, trying to coax her out of the house. “Not ready,” she’d say. “I need time.” How much time would it take? How much time does a person normally require before they learn to cope with the loss of a loved one? Learn to cope? She didn’t want to learn to cope. Addie hadn’t had much time with Cael to begin with. She felt cheated. Resentful and cheated that she didn’t get to love and enjoy her soul mate for any longer than only a few short months. According to Maia, Cael and Addie were fated. She and Cael had joked, laughing about it being a secret fate because of Addie’s secluded and sheltered childhood. Well, fate was cruel, wasn’t it?

About Susan
Susan Griscom daydreams often. And sometimes her daydreams interfere with her daydreams not to mention real life. Because, let’s face it, her character’s lives are so much more exciting. Sometimes it’s young adult or new adult or just plain old mainstream fiction and sometimes it’s paranormal romance, where her playing field delves into a different milieu than the usual vampires and werewolves. Some day she might write about fangs and fur, but for now she prefers sticking to strong heroes and heroines confronted with extraordinary forces of nature, powers and abilities beyond the norm, mixed with a little romance to get the blood boiling.
Susan lives in the Sierra Foothills in Northern California with her very romantic husband, her small yippy dog, Riley, and her humongous black cat, Saké. Her family consists of his and hers; four wonderful sons and one beautiful daughter, and seven grand angels.
Susan loves when a story takes hold and pulls her into the fantasy, that's magic.
You can visit Susan at http://susangriscom.com or email her at susan@susangriscom.com.  She loves hearing from her fans.

Links to learn more about Susan:

Other works by Susan:
WHISPER CAPE (Book 1)
Amazon USA
Amazon UK













REFLECTIONS (Whisper Cape, Book 2)















ALLUSIVE AFTERSHOCK













BRIEF INTERLUDES














EROTIC INTERLUDES

Tuesday, July 2, 2013

Release Event | You Killed My Brother by Keith Rommel


Book Title: You Killed My Brother
Author: Keith Rommel
Release Date: June 2013
Genre: Suspense, Thriller, Crime, Fiction
Presented by: As You Wish Tours

BLURB

Rainer is a successful doctor and father of two. He’s a celebrated member of the community for his exceptional care and charity work. Brick is a local street thug that can’t keep his nose clean. When fate brings the two together through tragedy, the life of Rainer is changed dramatically.

Glenn is a seasoned cop and Rainer’s younger brother. Trusting the justice system, he keeps his desire for revenge in check as Brick is brought to trial. But when the jury hands Brick a lean sentence, Glenn sets out to avenge his family’s suffering. But what he forgets in his rage is that for every action, there is a reaction.

 
EXCERPT

“If you make a sound, tonight is going to be the last night of your life. Do you understand me?”

The woman stiffened and dropped the music player to the ground.

“Easy,” he said, and clamped his hand down on her shoulder. “Take a breath and think about what I said to you,” he said, and kept her in place with ease. He twisted the gun in her back. “You know what that is, don’t you?”

The woman whimpered but remained still. Her breathing was heavy and her legs shook terribly.

“That’s good. Nice and easy,” Brick said with an expression of pure satisfaction. “Fear can be a great thing. It can help keep you alive tonight. I promise you that what I’m after isn’t worth your life.”

“Please don’t hurt me,” she said. “Take whatever you want.”

“That’s a good girl and I plan on it,” he said. “Now, I want you to reach into your bag and hand me your wallet over your shoulder. Make sure you don’t turn around because that is a price you don’t want to pay.”

He listened to the woman unzip her pocketbook and shuffle through some of the items inside.

“Nothing smart,” he said and dug the barrel of the gun into her side a little more. “And I don’t want you speaking anymore. Just do as I say and give me what I want. If you do that, I’ll leave you alone.”

The woman handed him the wallet and he snatched it out of her hand. He quickly rifled through the money compartment and the sight of several twenty-dollar bills satisfied him.

“You see, this is all working out just fine,” he said, and removed the bills from the wallet and stuffed them into his pocket.

“Now that you’ve gotten what you wanted, please just go,” the woman said.

Brick threw the wallet to the ground at her feet. “And I remember telling you not to talk! Don’t ever cross a Sinner,” he said, and drew the weapon back and swung it into the side of her head. The loud thud of the metal hitting bone was accompanied with a spray of blood. The woman fell into a heap.

“Damn!” he said, and ran for Paco’s car. “I missed that feeling!”

About the Author 
Keith Rommel is a native of Long Island, New York and currently lives with his family in Port Saint Lucie, Florida. Keith is a retail manager and has enjoyed collecting comic books since he was a child (a hobby inspired by a teacher in grade school to help overcome a reading comprehension disability).

Keith Rommel is the author of the critically acclaimed dark suspense Thanatology Series entitled The Cursed Man and The Lurking Man. His newest novel: You Killed My Brother is a fast-paced suspense thriller with crime and some rather unorthodox police work. Keith is the co screenplay writer for The Cursed Man movie and is currently hard at work on the third novel in the Thanatology Series due out winter 2013.

AUTHOR LINKS

BOOK LINKS